When Early Notification is enabled, the camera sends the alert when motion is first detected.
When Early Notification is not enabled, Motion Alerts are sent after the Motion Clip is saved.
The amount of time 'earlier' you receive an Early Notification depends upon your Clip Length settings and other factors like network speeds.
The Early Notification option is only available for the following Blink devices:
- Blink Outdoor and Indoor (3rd Gen)
Why would I use Early Notification?
A real advantage of Early Notification is being able to enter Live View when you tap the Motion Alert notification. In this way, you can be interacting with visitors using two-way voice, or viewing whatever triggered the motion alert, within a few seconds.
Can I save the Live View session?
If you have an active Blink Subscription Plan and your camera supports recording the Live View session, a "Save / Discard " toggle appears in the live view. When the toggle is set to "Save", the current session records until the timeout, or when you stop the Live View by tapping "Close".
How do I use Early Notification?
To enable Early Notification, go to the camera settings screen and select Motion Settings. Then switch on Early Notification.
Early Notification is off by default for Blink cameras, as shown in the image.