The Blink Video Doorbell, Outdoor, Indoor (gen 2), Mini, and XT2 cameras can only save Live View sessions to Cloud Storage with a Blink Subscription Plan or Free Trial. You can save just the Live view you are watching in the Blink app, and you can choose to save all Live Views.
XT and Indoor (gen 1) cameras do not save Live Views.
When you have Cloud Storage and use an Alexa enabled device to start a Live View, the entire session gets saved unless you stop it manually.
With a subscription, if the Blink app is closed suddenly while watching Live View, the session up to that point is saved to Cloud Storage. We save the video just in case that was your wish when the app suddenly stopped. You can easily delete the clip from your clip roll, as described below.
If your system uses Local Storage instead of Cloud Storage, Live View sessions are view-only. This includes Live View from Alexa devices, which are restricted from accessing Local Storage.
Cloud Storage with a Blink Subscription Plan (or Free Trial) allows you to save Live View sessions from Blink Outdoor, Indoor (gen 2), Mini, and XT2 cameras. Blink Subscription Plans allow an unlimited number of clips to be stored until they expire.
By default, Blink stores each clip for 60 days before automatically deleting it. The Auto-delete setting can be changed in the Clip Roll screen from 7 days up to a maximum of 60 days (30 days in the EU, UK).
Blink Mini requires a subscription to save Live Views. Learn more about Mini storage options here.
When you have Cloud Storage and set up a Sync Module 2 with USB drive for Local Storage, the automatic action is to save a copy of new cloud files once a day as a Clip Backup. Live View sessions are not included in the backup. To learn more about the Sync Module 2 click here.
For those with XT2 cameras, keep in mind that Live View session clips take considerably more storage space than motion clips, so be aware of your 7200 second storage limit. When the limit is reached, your oldest clip will be automatically deleted to make room for the newest one. Click for more about how clips are deleted.
When supported Alexa devices have discovered a Blink camera, you can enter a Live View session by saying the command "Alexa show me" and adding the name of your camera as it appears in the Blink app:
"Alexa, show me <camera name>."
If you have an active subscription or Free Trial, the five minute Live View session is saved to Cloud Storage, unless you stop the session sooner, by saying the command:
"Alexa, hide my <camera name>."
To record after 5 minutes, you must start a new Live View session by repeating the view command:
"Alexa, show me <camera name>."
Note: Live Views are not saved if you are using Local Storage to record clips directly to a Sync Module 2 with USB drive.
For more information about installing and using Alexa with Blink products, click here.
Saving Live Views is only available to Outdoor, Indoor (gen 2), Mini, and XT2 cameras.
To enable the "Save all Live Views" setting to save every Live View session by default tap on the system icon in the footer of the app.
Then under the Systems section, tap the name of the system where you wish to save all Live View sessions.
Tap the "Save all Live Views" toggle to turn this on.
With Live View sessions, you can record up to five minutes if you press the "Continue ?" prompt each time it appears.
First, tap on the Live View button for any of your Blink cameras. This button is in the bottom left corner of the main camera image when you are viewing the Home screen.
In the Live View screen, the "Save/Discard" toggle controls if that session will be saved to your primary storage location for that system. Tap "Save" to store the session.
Note, that the"Save/Discard" toggle is not shown here when the "Save all Live Views" option is enabled in System Settings (see The Save all Live Views section above).
You can recognize a saved Live View session from its icon in your clip roll.
Motion clips show the "running man" icon .
When a clip is deleted from Cloud Storage by you, or automatically, it is permanently removed from our systems and cannot be recovered.
Tap Edit to select which clips in the view get marked for deletion.
Tap Filter to select which device is included in the view.
Note: The Edit option is only available on iOS devices.
Click here to learn about deleting multiple clips at once.