How Do I Use Clip Backup?

When you have clips and Live View sessions in cloud storage, Clip Backup is a feature that stores a copy onto your USB drive once every 24 hours. Clip Backup is only available for Blink Outdoor, Indoor (gen 2), and Mini cameras when connected to Sync Module 2 with a subscription or free trial.

Clip Backup begins automatically when the Sync Module 2 has a recognized USB drive and an eligible camera is connected to an active subscription.

To access the backup files, the USB storage device must be removed from the Sync Module 2, and inserted into a computer or similar device. Clip Backup files are found in a directory named blink_backups. The timestamp of backup files corresponds to our server time zone of UTC, or Greenwich Mean Time.

To safely eject the USB drive, tap the Sync Module icon on the home screen of the Blink app. Then tap "Local Storage" to reach the "Safe Eject USB" button.

  


To view clips that were backed up

First, note the date and time of the "Last Backup:" to be sure that the files you want are on the USB storage device. Since the backup occurs once per day, it is possible that the files you want are not yet saved to USB.

From the Local Storage screen, tap Safe Eject and wait to receive the "USB Disconnected" message and the USB icon changes to 'inactive' as shown below.

 disconnect usb message

You can now remove your USB storage device from the Sync Module 2, and insert it into a computer or similar device to view the files.

If you reinsert the USB storage device into the Sync Module 2, backups resume and new, unsaved files are added to the blink_backups directory.



Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Support