How do I delete Motion Clips?

Once a clip is deleted in the app, it is immediately and permanently removed from Blink's servers. Blink Support can not recover deleted clips for customers.

  • Automatically, which requires no interaction
  • Manually with the Blink app
  • Manually from a computer (clips saved on a USB flash drive)

Automatically delete clips

When you're subscribing to a Blink plan with Cloud Storage, clips are deleted automatically after a certain period of time. The default auto-delete period is 60 days and can be adjusted to 3, 7, 14, or 30 days (EU and UK users have 30 days maximum).

Auto-delete is available with:

  • A Blink Subscription Plan or a free trial
  • An account activated on or before April 15, 2020
  • An early generation Blink device - XT2, XT, and Indoor (generation 1)

Storage Settings

The period that clips are auto-deleted can be changed by tapping Storage Settings within Clips. 

Note: Storage Settings is available to users on a Blink subscription plan. If you were formerly on a plan, your auto-delete Storage Setting will remain as whatever was selected before the subscription plan expired.


  1. Tap Clips Clip Roll icon to view your available motion clips.
  2. Tap the clip you would like to delete. 
    • We recommend you verify the clip before you delete it. Deleted clips cannot be recovered.
  3. Tap anywhere on the video that is playing. The video will dim to bring up an actions overlay. Tap the trash can .
  4. A confirmation message will appear. Tap Yes to confirm deletion.

  • Cloud storage gives you the ability to select and delete multiple clips at once. This feature is not available for Local Storage Clips.
  • Edit (iOS only) and Filter options are also specific to Cloud storage do not appear for Local Storage Clips.

iOS

Delete

Warning

Unlike single clips, the app does not prompt you to confirm multiple clip deletion before it completes the action.

  1. Tap Clips Clip Roll icon to view the available motion clips.
  2. Tap Edit and then tap each clip you'd like to mark for deletion. A blue checkmark appears over the clip's thumbnail showing you it's been selected.
  3. Tap Delete to delete the clips.
  4. You can also use Select All to select every clip in the list, and then tap Delete to remove all of the selected clips at once. 

Android

Delete

Warning

Unlike single clips, the app does not prompt you to confirm multiple clip deletion before it completes the action.

  1. Tap Clips Clip Roll icon to view the available motion clips.
  2. Tap and hold on a clip. A blue checkmark will appear over the clip's thumbnail showing you it's been selected. 
  3. Tap the trash can  to delete the clips.
  4. You can also use Select All to select every clip in the list, and then tap Delete to remove all of the selected clips at once. 
Delete

Delete a clip from your USB flash drive

The USB flash drive connected to your Sync Module 2 can contain either local storage clips or clip backups. Learn more about Local Storage with Sync Module 2.

Local Storage clips

Local Storage clips can be viewed and deleted one at a time within the Blink app. Delete them the same way you delete single clips in the Blink app.

To delete more than one clip at once, safely eject the USB drive from your Sync Module 2, and move it to a computer to access clip files directly. Delete the clips using the operating system of your computer.

Clip Backups

If you have an active subscription plan and are using a Sync Module 2 with USB flash drive to store clip backups, these backups can't be viewed or deleted in the Blink app. Instead, safely eject the drive from your Sync Module 2, and move it to a computer. Delete the clips using the operating system of your computer.




Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Support