If you've received a notification saying that one or more of your cameras have high usage, this means that you won't get the expected 2 year battery life that Blink cameras offer. High usage means that the amount of motion clips recorded and Live View used is causing the batteries to deplete quicker than expected.
This notification is enabled by tapping Settingson the app home screen > Notifications > High Camera Usage.
If you get this notification, you may want to do one or more of the following:
- Reposition your camera if you're receiving false motion alert.
- Shorten the length of your motion clips.
- Reduce your use of Live View.
- Lower your camera's sensitivity setting.
- Configure Activity Zones to prevent excessive motion clips or false alerts.
- If possible, only arm your camera when no one is home.
- Reduce the amount of time your camera is armed when at home.
- This can be automated by enabling Scheduled Arming.
- Individually arm and disarm certain cameras within a system.
- Ensure that your camera has at least 3 bars of signal strength for Camera to WiFi.
- Reduce the use of your camera's illuminator.
If you tap on the info button as seen above, you'll see the following image:
From here, you can dismiss the warning. You can also select the toggle to prevent this message from being shown in the future.
What happens if I tap "Dismiss this Warning"?
If you dismiss the warning, the notification will no longer be present on your home screen. If you sign out of the Blink app and sign back in, the warning will come back.
What happens if I select "Don't show this warning again"?
If you select "Don't show this warning again", you will no longer receive alerts about High Usage. You can re-enable that feature by selecting Settings > Notifications > High Camera Usage again.