How to Configure Privacy Zones

Privacy Zones are only available for the Blink Indoor and Outdoor cameras. A Privacy Zone is an area you select and Blink adjusts the camera firmware to not allow any video information or motion alerts to ever leave the camera.

Examples of why you may use Privacy Zones would be to exclude a neighbor's door, or window from being viewed or recorded by your camera. Up to two Privacy Zones can be set and they are easily recognized as grey areas of the screen.

privacy zones are grey in the camera image

To use this feature, access the settings of the camera that you want to modify.

camera settings


From camera settings, tap Zones. You will then see options for Activity Zones and Privacy Zones. Click here to learn how to fully configure Activity Zones.

camera settings


Tap the Privacy Zones button to view the screen. You now see the camera thumbnail with a grid pattern. You can also tap the Update Photo button to refresh the thumbnail image. Tapping Reset Privacy Zones deletes the existing zones. Privacy Zones cannot be edited, only deleted (reset) and recreated.

Tap and drag on the screen to draw up to two zones you want selected within the thumbnail image. Once zones are created they can be moved and resized by dragging on the blue dots at the corners of each.

camera settings


After your zones are drawn, tap Done to save them. You are then returned to the Settings screen, and the grid pattern now reflects the zones you just set.

camera settings


You can tap Save to apply all settings changes and be sent to the Home screen.

If you tap Zones again, the Zones screen now shows the Privacy Zones in black to help contrast with activity zones, which are grey in the Activity Zone view.


Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Support